Chiusi with a “C”

Hello. Bri here. A quick side note to my family: I am alive and well, and Italy, as I’m sure you’ve read in my friends’ posts, is quite a sight to behold. 

I woke up this morning to the cold surroundings of the girls’ bedroom, which I have done surprisingly for the entirety of this trip. (You know the moment that you realize that everywhere outside of the warm cocoon you’ve put yourself in will be extremely cold, even the rest of your bed? Yeah, that moment.) After stumbling around the house getting ready for the day at a solid hour of 7:45, we ate, and set off on the hour and a half drive to Chiusi.

*fun fact: Chiusi is pronounced with a hard -c, while a word like Civitate is pronounced with a -ch* Sorry, I’m just a bit of a nerd.

Our drive to Chisui was full of mixed things. Some slept, others read and/or listened to music and enjoyed the scenery, and others (cough cough our lovely teachers cough) played the infamous game of Cow-Deer, now with Rooves! Since I was one of the people who looked out the window for an hour and a half, lemme tell you about it. The road was curvy, the hills were rolling, and no matter where we go, I swear, there is no traffic ever, nothing that compares to Colorado at least. What I first thought to be grass that just happened to be different colors, was actually wheat…and something else but I am, sadly, not a grain expert. The pure size of them was astounding, and they stretched for miles in every direction (or should I say kilometers?) We passed by a couple of small towns that somehow looked both different and similar at the same time; each having their own separate feel, yet if you had placed them side-by-side, they could form a singular, cohesive city. 

Now Chiusi was a quaint little thing. We parked and walked up to the Estrucan Museum of Chiusi, modeled after a typical Etruscan temple, complete with pillars and statues. Inside the museum was, in my opinion, the best we’ve seen so far. All of the cases were organized by time period, all of the descriptions had both Italian and English translations, and were somewhat organized by where they were found. Mr. Carroll had us do an activity called “create a narrative” (which was first mentioned in the wonderful talk given by Tony the day previous) on an item of our choosing. This activity was extremely helpful and it helped me realize that I wasn’t as out-of-my-depth as I thought I was. We took a tour of the rest of the museum and its counterpart in the building beside it. Afterwards we had a lovely picnic in the park and (by the power of the nature gods) it started raining once we headed back to the car. As we drove it stopped raining, so we popped into Siena again for an hour and got some lovely items (sorry parents I am not going to ruin the surprise for you). Siena was just as beautiful as it was the first time we saw it. A quick trip to the grocery store for cookies-amongst other things I assure you- and settled in for some relaxing time before dinner.

Hint: dinner was a phomonenal mushroom risotto prepared by Mr. Carroll and stirred by Coco and Kiana. 

Now we’re back to relaxing and readying ourselves for the first day on the dig tomorrow (yay!). We will definitely let you know how that goes. I hope you’re enjoying reading about our trip as much as we are enjoying being here. Grazie mille.

One thought on “Chiusi with a “C”

  1. We’re glad you,your friends and teachers are having a good time. We miss you, enjoy the beauty. Safe safe.

Leave a Reply

