Another Season is upon us

The 2016 season is almost upon us and with that means a new group of students to bring to Poggio Civitate. We leave on the 15th and I have asked the students to share some thought on the next season here. Soon they will be posting regularly about their time in Italy.

Here is Bri’s post:

I’m excited for two things in Italy, mostly because I consider the trip to be in two parts: the traveling and the actual dig. While traveling around Italy, I’m most excited to see the people and their culture. I know that sounds pretty typical, but I’ve never been outside the country before. I know how Americans work and interact with each other, but other than that I’m lost. For the dig, I’m excited about the whole process. The experience is something that not many people have done and actually seeing the items that the Etruscans once created, I think, will tie everything in together. Not to mention, the categorization and meticulous description of the items is something I can get behind. Needless to say, I cannot wait.

And Patrick’s:

For this trip, my excitement cannot be contained. While there are many factors contributing to this, I wish to discuss a few here. First and foremost, I believe this is a brilliant oppurtunity to experience foreign culture. I can only hope that through the vast amounts of knowledge regarding ancient and modern cultures I can learn improve myself for the better. Also, I believe this trip to be a spectacular life experience. Working on a dig site is rather uncommon and a unique oppurtunity. Through this trip, I am excited to attempt something so new and different from the standard American life I live right now. Finally, I am excited to contribute to a cause which I believe is very important. The exploring and recording of history is a very important topic today, and I am thrilled to be a part of it. Ultimately, I am excited for this trip as it will better my life and will allow me to participate in one of the most unique and awesome experiences.

As the other kids send in their paragraphs I’ll be sure to share them here. We all are super excited to be traveling under the Tuscan Sun this summer. 

Mr. Carroll

Leave a Reply

